Meet The Team

Rachel Nugent - Height Safety Supervisor

What name/nickname do you prefer to be called?

Rachel/Rach, Rachel was shortened to Rach when I was at secondary school by friends. I’m only called Rach by close friends now. Family members still call me Rachel and never call me Rach.

If you could write your own job title that best describes what you do here, what would it be?

Height Safety Supervisor, which involves managing a team of about 20 members of staff with the help of my 2 Team Leaders.  My job involves planning production of the height and safety equipment which is all made here in house at SpanSet UK, working toward lead times that I provide to the Customer Support department. 

I also work closely with other departments within SpanSet – including Purchasing and Dispatch. An important aspect of my role is to provide an ear and listen to any problems any members of staff may be going through, whether work related or personal and try to help them the best I can.  If I cannot always help with this, I will seek advice from the HR department.

What do you enjoy about the work you do? 

Every day is different, every day there is new challenge or new problem to sort out!

Getting the orders out efficiently and knowing that we have helped to get those goods to the customer on time so they can carry on with their work and haven’t been held up.

From doing this work I know that the products we make are potentially life-saving.

It’s lovely to know that people come to SpanSet as we provide good quality equipment that we have taken a pride in making and that the end user is going to go home safely back to their family.

What are your hobbies? 

Since the arrival 2 years ago of my little girl, Khloe I haven’t had much time for any hobbies, but we do as a family enjoy going out for long walks with our pet dog, Otis. We walk around the local fields where Otis can run about safely and get his daily exercise. Khloe tries to run around with him, but she can’t keep up he’s far too fast as he is a whippet! Another favourite place to walk is along the lovely canal paths near where we live in Middlewich.

What volunteering or passion projects do you do outside of work? 

I don’t have time really for any volunteering due to working full time and also being a mum, but I do like to take the time to help care for my grandparents who are both in their 70’s. They still look after themselves and do not need care, but I like to check in on them and offer to help them with things such as the shopping or helping with the garden (they refuse they still like to do things themselves!). They have been there for me my whole life, so I like to offer the support back to them

Busy - managing a team of 20 at SpanSet and looking after family which includes her young daughter Khloe  - Rachel still makes time for long walks with Otis the whippet!